Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>Now They Say It's Not The Flu
Sunchimes 01:35 PM 12-18-2013
When I texted mom mid-day yesterday to find out what the doctor's said about dcb, she said type b flu. She called last night to say that dad took him to the doctor and she had misunderstood what he said. Apparently, doc told dad that he and older kid had the flu (based only on his description of symptoms 10 days later), but baby was just teething. sigh She said that sometimes, when teething, a baby's immune system is weakened and they can pick up minor bugs. They gave him a prescription for antibiotics but said not to give it to him unless he gets worse. ?????? I've never heard of teething causing a weakened immune system, but I'm not a doctor.

Mom said he hadn't had a bit of fever and felt fine, playing and happy. But, she was keeping him home today because he was such a grouch. Now that I think about it, she told me on Monday that she had given him Tylenol before he came over here because he was so fussy.

Maybe that's all it is, but I'm smelling one of those contagious teething "viruses". Hope I'm wrong!
Blackcat31 01:39 PM 12-18-2013
I would require the doctor to provide a written diagnosis. I would NOT take mom's word.

My illness policy includes the flu. If ANY of an enrolled child's family members get the flu, NO ONE from that family can attend daycare.

TOO risky for me.

This pertains to the flu only. Not other common illness.

FWIW~ They don't give antibiotics unless there is some sort of infection. Antibiotics do not help viruses.
Sunchimes 05:21 PM 12-18-2013
" They don't give antibiotics unless there is some sort of infection. Antibiotics do not help viruses. "

I know. That's why I'm skeptical. We've all been exposed now, but if he's not 100% in the morning, he's leaving.