Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>Anyone Here Work In A Center?
Unregistered 12:02 AM 04-18-2014
I just started at a center licensed for 50 kids. It's tough!

Years ago I worked in a center, but I have been away for years!

I make top dollar for child care in my area
I have a classroom of three/four/fives-which I love
I get 18 paid days off per year
Great supportive owner/director
Lots of supplies and resources
My group of kids are basically great with only a few behavior issues

It's just long grueling days! I see/hear LOTS of questionable stuff going on

Open concept with two year old room, we also eat with the two's. Lots of crying and noise.

I'm with a mixed group of two's to five's last hour of the day by myself the last hour of the day. Ugh!

Does it get easier?
pandamom 02:52 AM 04-18-2014
I work as a caregiver in a NAEYC accredited center...in a 2 year old room. It is hard- it took a few months for my body to get used to being on my feet and on the go for the entire shift.

It's hard for us to get supplies now since it's a miltiary center and extra funds are hard to come by with all the downsizing. Caregivers have had to reach into our own pockets to bring in different art supplies.
Unregistered 04:28 AM 04-18-2014
Thanks for responding! I'm trying to be thankful for the things that are positive at my center. When I did family child care my body didn't hurt like this. Maybe it will get easier. Thanks again.
racemom 05:37 AM 04-18-2014