Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>Need book organization ideas
abenike722 03:45 PM 09-09-2009
I have been doing daycare in my home for about 1 1/2 years and I have acquired many many books. I honestly don't even know how many I have. I would like to start some sort of catalog system that I can use to easily locate books I need or want instead of having to thumb through all of them.

I thought about using an alphabetical title list, but realized that wouldn't work if I was looking for a book about something specific not listed in the title. I can't think of a way (or a program) to use to cross reference the books.

Ideally I would like to be able to find a book by either title, character or story content. And ideas anyone has would be GREATLY appreciated! Thanks!
mac60 05:18 PM 09-09-2009
Are you looking to do this for your use, or for the childrens? I couldn't imagine doing this for the children, as the books would always be a mess.
abenike722 04:38 AM 09-10-2009
Yes this would be for my use only. I rotate the books for the children every couple months so they have new books to look at all the time. This is another reason the organization is needed; I need to where each book is so I can actually locate it when I need it for circle time.
Unregistered 04:39 AM 09-10-2009
Does your local library have a website with an online catalog? Try looking at how they classify your books on there.
GretasLittleFriends 07:31 AM 09-10-2009
Have you tried calling a librarian and asking for advice? Explain what you're trying to do, I think they'd be a great resource for you.
AmandasFCC 07:42 AM 09-10-2009