Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>Get Children To Nap Problem!
vivivi113 06:47 AM 01-04-2017
I have been working in a daycare for a several months. I usually work with different groups of children, depends on the ratio.
I have a big problem here. Children refuse to go to SLEEP!!! Not all of them refuse to sleep, but at least some of them. I usually tell them to lay down on their cots, listen to the music we play and close eyes. I explain to them that napping can relax their bodies so they can play in the afternoon, otherwise, they will be tired.
They just ignore me!
However, when other teachers come in and tell them to lay down, children will do it right away! What is the problem?
What should I do?
Ariana 06:53 AM 01-04-2017
Is there a consequence you can have for the behavior? We would sometimes put a cot outside the door and make a child sleep out there on their cot (or lay down) if they were disruptive to the group. There has to be some kind of consequence so they know you mean business. Ask the other teachers what they do as well.
Play Care 08:07 AM 01-04-2017
Originally Posted by vivivi113:
I have been working in a daycare for a several months. I usually work with different groups of children, depends on the ratio.
I have a big problem here. Children refuse to go to SLEEP!!! Not all of them refuse to sleep, but at least some of them. I usually tell them to lay down on their cots, listen to the music we play and close eyes. I explain to them that napping can relax their bodies so they can play in the afternoon, otherwise, they will be tired.
They just ignore me!
However, when other teachers come in and tell them to lay down, children will do it right away! What is the problem?
What should I do?
It sounds as if you are using a lot of words, when they just need to be told "BED, NOW!" firmly.
Josiegirl 09:52 AM 01-04-2017