Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>Daycare Provider, Pre-K-3rd Grade Teacher or Nurse?
Unregistered 07:53 AM 09-04-2014
Help!

I have been a licensed daycare provider for 1.5 years now, and there are some things I love and some things I hate. I am hoping that you guys can help me get some perspective and make a decision.

I have a bachelor's degree in mass communication and spent 5 years in the Army before becoming a stay-at-home mom with my kids. They are now 4 and 6, and my son is already starting to age out of the daycare. I can tell he is getting bored and a little tired of smaller kids during the summer months.

So, here are my options: I can switch from the 3 days a week I do now to 5 days a week from 7:30 to 4:30 to cater to teachers' kids and have school holidays/summers off with my own kids. I currently make about $600 a week with my hourly rate caring for two babies and drop-off kids just working the 3 days. If I move to a weekly daycare, then I would need to switch to a weekly rate. I only want about 4 kids, so that puts me at about $250 for an infant and $200 for over 2 (we are in the Baltimore/D.C. area). That would be $900 a week, but with more hours. Pros to doing this are that I can spend time with my kids in the mornings/afternoons, and if they are sick, they can just go upstairs and I am not missing work. Cons are that I am working more days, and there really isn't a safety net. I still have to juggle having enough kids in my daycare, and if I get sick, I don't get paid. I also won't be able to volunteer at my kids' school, etc., without getting a substitute for my daycare.