Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Menus, Breakfast, Lunch and Snack Ideas>Can We Talk Organic vs Non Organic
DaycareMama 10:13 AM 05-09-2013
I'm not looking to start a debate about what's best
But I am learning more and more about the crap that's in our foods and it seriously scares me! I have a pretty large group ( 12) daily and I can not afford to go totally organic.

In your opinions what's the top 3 things you wouldn't buy if its not organic?
Like I said I am new to this so please share why?!

I am on the food program and follow their guidelines.
I am currently making meals at the meal times and think it would definitely be a lot healthier to pre-make a lot of the stuff. Especially the "meats" I am ALWAYS running out of ideas for the meat option that the kids will eat.
MamaBearCanada 10:18 AM 05-09-2013
Apples, spinach, berries

However, I try to get most of the Dirty Dozen organic. Here's a link that gives a brief explanation.
DaycareMama 10:47 AM 05-09-2013
I just yesterday read about the Dirty Dozen. I was blown away! You think your doing something good buying fresh fruit but....WOW!
MrsSteinel'sHouse 11:08 AM 05-09-2013
Another suggestion is to go to your local farmers market and talk with them. A lot of ours us organic methods but aren't certified. I buy from them as much as possible. Doing the CSA thing this year from the farmer I love. I also planted strawberries and veggies so I know. I order from a coop so I get better prices. I buy bulk items not trendy organic stuff. So flour, oats, rice, real salt etc. all of my stuff for childcare kids is not organic but the best I can do and what I can find in small town, no trader joes etc.
LK5kids 04:11 AM 05-11-2013
I would add organic milk and yogurt.
Willow 07:06 AM 05-11-2013
I spring for organic if it's something we'll be eating the peels and skin of...berries, any kind of salad like romaine or spinach, apples, grapes etc.