Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>At The End Of The Rope With This Family!!! Need Advice!
Unregistered 07:59 AM 10-21-2011
I'm registered, but prefer not to log in with this one

So let's try to make this story short
I've been serving this family for 3 months, child is always unkept and dirty, I had a couple of arguments with the Mom because she was ALWAYS dropping him off with a leaking, filty diaper from the night before, I had to charge late fees more than a couple of times, and they paid late in more than a few occasions. Lots of time Mom said that DAd will come and pick up child two hours before the contracted time, so I plan accordingly, and then early pick up NEVER happens.

This child gets dropped off at 5.45am, which means I have to get up at 5am to be ready by that time. In one occasion child got dropped off at 8am, without even giving me a call to let me know he was going to be late. I told parents to please call anytime in case this happens again, because I'm in school full time, and I do homework until midnight or later, and I can use one or two extra hours of sleep in the morning, if I know that I have no kids until later.

The other day I gave them a 2 weeks notice.... child came yesterdaya at regular time, today he is a "no show", and I got no phone call. I've been up since 5am waiting for this kids they is still not here, almost 3 hours later.

Now, I'm pissed, and I want to terminate immediately, they have all week end to find another daycare....

what would you do????
nannyde 08:01 AM 10-21-2011
Is it payday?

If they know they are leaving they will do as the please for the notice time.
Unregistered 08:05 AM 10-21-2011
That is frustrating...especially the getting up a couple hours earlier just to take him. I would be tempted to terminate immediately especially if they are late paying this week. If they have already paid, I would probably just ride it out and count down the days.