Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>To Take In More or Not....?
Greenshadow 04:46 PM 06-02-2010
I just moved to this area from another state. I have been providing care here now for only two months. When I started here, I did check rates of other providers and I also checked on the licensing requirements. I was licensed where I used to live but have not licensed myself yet here.

When I started interviews with parents before I took in any kids, I felt like I would only take in one, maybe two kids. Ive had a change of heart and have taken in 4 so far. I am in a smaller home and only use the downstairs but I use ALL of it. One of the mom's is pregnant and due in September. She wants me to watch her new baby too. Newborns for me are fairly easy early on so I agreed. I now have my neighbor asking me to watch her baby in October when she is due and another mom has asked me to watch her new baby when she delivers in December, but will be pulling her daughter from my care to move on to preschool. So I will have my own 3-yr old, 3 2-yr olds, and 3 newborns. Obviously thats more than I can handle. Alone. I may consider hiring someone to help me. My question is this: Because I told my parents at the beginning that I wouldnt take more kids, can I go back and change my mind? At the time, I wasnt interested in taking more kids but Im used to having more (I had 8 when I was licensed) and we could really use the money as we took a huge paycut moving here. What should I do about this? Not take them because I said I wouldnt regardless of how I feel and how we need the money or take them and let the parents decide whether to stay or not?
judytrickett 05:14 PM 06-02-2010
Of course you can change your mind - it's YOUR business.

Does anyone ever begrudge Walmart for expanding?
MarinaVanessa 05:32 PM 06-02-2010