Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>Help!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
CheekyChick 02:14 PM 06-21-2011
I have been running an in-home certified child care center for almost four years. In the past, my nappers (2 to 4 years of age) were quiet. If they didn't sleep, they would read books quietly on their cots.

Times have changed. I have a group of little girls (ages 2 1/2 to 3 1/2) who will not stay on their cots, they talk to one another, sing, giggle - throughout the entire napping period. Often times they never fall asleep...

I have tried bribing them with a sticker or a small marshmallow when they wake up. That hasn't worked. I have considered time-outs, but if I were to give them a time-out, they would scream and wake up the few children who
actually fell asleep.

I would appreciate any tips/suggestions as to how to make these adorable little girls behave (and fall asleep) during nap time.

Thanks!
Cat Herder 02:23 PM 06-21-2011
Less starch in their diets, more heavy proteins. Kids diets have changed drastically in the last 5 years or so.

Lots of physical excersize in the mornings with a quiet period prior to naptime.

Have a set naptime routine, everyday...

I use a box fan, naptime cd, a dark sheet over the window and a black berry or cinn apple scented room spray to set the feel of the room (citrus the rest of the day). I then go about hand wiping toys, in the same room, without making eye contact.

I bore them to sleep.

Same thing everyday.
spud912 02:24 PM 06-21-2011
Can you separate them somehow? What I did is put a room divider between the cots so they can't see each other and stay nearby to police them until they wind down. I also start nap time with certain privileges in bed (books, stuffed animals, extra blankets) and take things away as they misbehave.
CheekyChick 02:40 PM 06-21-2011
Originally Posted by Catherder: