Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>Anyone In California That Does CDA?
MamaBear 07:58 PM 06-14-2011
So I've been a daycare provider for 5+ years and never have had a client that uses CDA payments (California Development Associates) "alternative payments program". I always had families pay me out of pocket and never thru the state or anything.

I had a family with two children tour at my daycare today who want to use CDA payments and I told them that I've never done it before and I'd like to research it before I say okay. I've looked at it online but didnt get a lot of info on it... I'm just wondering from fellow daycare providers if its something worth getting involved in... like what are the pro's and cons?

Any help or advice would be much appreciated! :-)
daycare 09:43 PM 06-14-2011
Ive always been private pay. I have avoided it because of the non payment that happened last year for months on end. Several daycare shut down when the payments stopped.

Maybe you could call and ask what you coubty what you will need to do.
Michelle 06:25 AM 06-15-2011
Whenever the budget goes unsigned, they don't pay you, It can go on for months and they are always cutting our pay due to the budget.
I do take these programs but I am always stressed out.
MarinaVanessa 06:55 AM 06-15-2011
Yes, be careful. It's a little touchy. This is my first year accepting any help whatsoever in a form of a subsidy from the government and so far so good but I got a letter in the mail yesterday that read like this:

"As we move forward to the new 2010-2012 fiscal year, the State Budget may be delayed, therefore, provider reimbursements may also be delayed. Providers are encouraged to start considering back up plans in the event the State Budget is not approved by July 1, 2011 and we are forced to delay provider reimbursements."