Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>Time To Move On?
slorey 11:12 AM 05-15-2013
I have been doing home daycare for 5 years but this last year has been really difficult. I have been burned out and just not enjoying it much. I was hoping to take the summer off and come back refreshed and ready to start again. Only scheduled to have 1 family returning in September and a second family coming back in January after a maternity leave. The family that is supposed to be back in September told me yesterday they might be switching to a provider who can provide transport to and from preschool. I am ok with that, but that leaves me with no one until Jan! I feel as though this has happened for a reason and I should close and move on. My problem is I still have 3 young children of my own (2, 7, 9) so paying for daycare for them is not an option, but I need an income. My heart says move on but the practical part of me says no way! I am also having a hard time coming up with something I can do that would work around our school schedule. So to those of you moving on...how did you know it was time? And does anyone out there have any ideas for what I could do if I do decide to call it quits? So stressed about this but I really want to make a decision before my families leave for summer next month so I can let them know! Any advice would be greatly appreciated!
butterfly 11:33 AM 05-15-2013
I think I'd keep quiet about it for now, see how the summer goes with no one and give yourself a couple weeks to decide if this was the break that you needed or if you need to make this a more permanent arrangement.
Sugar Magnolia 11:35 AM 05-15-2013
Go.with your gut instinct. If you feel burned out.and your heart isn't in it anymore, maybe it is.A.D. Sign to move on. Only YOU know.what is best for you. You can always take the summer off and see if you feel like.starting over. Best wishes!
klamb28 09:25 AM 06-02-2013