Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>Homeschool and Daycare - Help!
hsdcmama 06:49 AM 11-14-2014
I have been homeschooling my 3 kids for the past 3 years, and I just opened my home daycare in February. I have been really struggling with keeping up with homeschooling since I've started daycare, and I'm looking for advice from other in-home provides that also homeschool.

This year's schooling has looked a lot different than the previous years. Lots more worksheets, a lot less hands-on/fun stuff and field trips. I just have not had the time to plan like I used to! I feel like my brain is torn in a hundred different directions all the time, and I can't seem to focus on one thing long enough to plan something meaningful and fun for my own kids. It's all I can do to get things in order for the daycare, like planning crafts, grocery lists/menus, etc. while also trying to keep up with my family's grocery shopping, laundry, dishes, cleaning, and all that. It's so much! I have dcb on the couch watching Little Einsteins right now so I can type this; I am so overwhelmed this week.

How do you manage to be a great dc provider AND still have meaningful school time with your own kids? I don't want our homeschooling to be all about one boring worksheet after another, and that's what it's become this past year. And some days I struggle even to get that in. The logical choice to some would be to just quit homeschooling; but a big reason why I started doing dc in the first place was so I could work AND continue to hs my kids. I know other people do it, so I don't want to give up just yet. What have you found helpful as far as scheduling, planning, and managing your time so you can get it all done? TIA!
finsup 11:28 AM 11-14-2014