Default Style Register
Daycare.com Forum
Daycare Center and Family Home Forum>Help With My Own Children!!
kppzbw 12:37 PM 05-17-2013
I have a 2 1/2 year old and a 4 1/2 year old of my own. I have been doing daycare now for almost 2 years and taught Kindergarten for 10 years prior to starting a daycare. I have wonderful families and awesome kids! However....I am having trouble with my own children hitting, taking toys away, shoving, 2 1/2 year old biting, etc. I have tried time outs, talking one on one, redirecting, soap in their mouth, you name it! I feel my 2 1/2 year old is mean and I just don't know what to do! and my 4 1/2 year old is constantly a problem and has trouble playing nicely with the other children. Help!!!
Blackcat31 12:56 PM 05-17-2013
Welcome to the forum!
cheerfuldom 06:22 PM 05-17-2013
OP you sound like you have a lot of experience with kids and probably know good and well how to get a group of youngsters to cooperate. That doesnt mean those skills translate to parenting....or to parenting AND doing daycare at the same time. Same situation as me. Overall, I have great daycare families and am very good at my job. I am also a mom of four kids under 6 years old and I love being a mom and I do feel like I am good at it. But when I combine the two things, its not pretty all the time LOL A couple of tips as I have done daycare for going on 6 years.

**First and foremost, please do not do soap in the mouth and other punishments like that. Since you asked for opinions, I am going to go ahead and give it. I am completely against punishments that humiliate and shame kids and anything that is seriously unsafe....like putting soap (a potentially toxic substance) in your kids mouth