KansasKansas
State Requirements
Starting a Daycare Business American Web Loan Daycare Insurance State Licensing Requirements and Standards
START A DAYCARE BUSINESS!
Daycare.com $29.95 Special Offer!
American Web Loan
Quick and Secure online process
Apply today, cash tomorrow!
DAYCARE INSURANCE
Liability Insurance Can Protect
You and Your Assets!
Licensing Requirements
Your state's Licensing Requirements
and contact numbers.

Daycare Center Licensing Standards Home Daycare Licensing Standards
Center License Application Center License Instructions
Preschool Licensing Requirements Daycare Drop In Licensing Standards
Family Group Daycare Licensing Standards Family Group License Application
Daycare Licensing Laws Center License Application in Spanish

Worker Qualifications
Group Leader - Fewer than 13 children: Must be at least 18 with a high school diploma or equivalent plus 6 mos. teaching experience or 5 sessions of 2 1/2 hours of observation in a child care facility with children of same age plus 10 hours of approved workshops or 3 semester hours academic credit or equivalent training in child development, early childhood education, curriculum resources plus supervised observation in high school or college or 3 mos. work experience or CDA.

Group Leader - 13 - 24 Children: Must be at least 18 with a high school diploma or equivalent plus 5 sessions of observation and 1 year teaching experience or 1 year supervised practicum or 7 - 9 semester hours academic credit or equivalent training in child development or early childhood education plus 3 mos. teaching experience or 1year supervised practicum or CDA.

Provider /Child Ratio
Age Range Ratios for Center Based Care in Kansas State

A child care facility in which care and educational activities are provided for 13 or more children two weeks to 16 years of age for more than three hours and less than 24 hours per day including day time, evening, and night-time care, or which provides before and after school care for school-age children. A facility may have fewer than 13 children and be licensed as a center if the program and building meet child care center regulations.

  • A qualified program director must be employed at the center full-time. Each unit must have qualified staff at all times when children are in care. Qualifications are stated by regulation and are based on the number of children in care.
  • Staff caring for children must, have an understanding of children and complete first aid, recognition of symptoms of illness, child abuse and neglect and other child care job related training.
  • A KBI criminal history and child abuse and neglect background check is processed on all persons living, working or volunteering in the licensed child care center facility.
  • State licensing fee $75 plus $1 for each child in the total capacity. For example, for a capacity of 60 children, the required initial and annual fee is $135. Local fees may also apply.
  • The child care center is inspected to check compliance with regulations to protect the health, safety and well-being of the children in care at least once every 12 months. The Kansas Department of Health and Environment contracts with local county health departments or private contractors to conduct on-site inspections.
Infants (2 weeks to 12 months)(1:3)
Infants to 6 years 1 to 4 / 8 max (4 infants)
Toddlers (12 mos. To 2 ½ years
if walking alone)
(1:5) / 10 max
2 years to 3 years (1:7) / 14 max
2 ½ years to school age (1:10) / 20 max
3 years to school age (1:12) / 24 max
Kindergarten enrollees (1:14) / 28 max
School age (1:16) / 32 max
Age Range Ratios for Family Home Daycare in Kansas

A child care facility in which care is provided for a maximum of ten (10) children under 16 years of age and includes children under eleven (11) years of age related to the provider. This total includes children under eleven (11) years of age related to the provider. The total number of children in care at any one time is based on the ages of the children in care.

  • The license is usually issued for the provider's own home but may be issued at a location other than the provider's home. The license identifies the address of the child care facility.
  • The licensee must be 18 years of age, have an understanding of children and complete first aid and child care job related training or readings.
  • A KBI criminal history and child abuse and neglect background check is processed on all persons living, working or volunteering in the licensed day care home.
  • State Licensing fee $85.00. Local fees may also apply.
  • The licensed day care home is inspected to check compliance with regulations to protect the health, safety and well-being of the children in care at least once every 12 months. The Kansas Department of Health and Environment contracts with local county health departments or private contractors to conduct on-site inspections.
0 - 18 months 0 --- 1 -- 2 - 3
18 Months - Kindergarten 7 --- 5 -- 4 - 3
Kindergarten - to 11 3 --- 4 -- 3 - 2
License Capacity 10 - 10 - 9 - 8
Age Range Ratios for Group Child Care in Kansas State

A child care facility in which care is provided for a maximum of twelve (12) children under 16 years of age and includes children under eleven (11) years of age related to the provider. The total number of children in care at any one time is based on the ages of the children in care.

  • The license is usually issued for the provider's own home but may be issued at a location other than the provider's home. The license identifies the address of the child care facility.
  • The licensee must be 18 years of age, have an understanding of children and complete first aid and child care job related training or readings.
  • A KBI criminal history and child abuse and neglect background check is processed on all persons living, working
    or volunteering in the licensed day care home.
  • State Licensing fee $87.00. Local fees may also apply.
  • The licensed group day care home is inspected to check compliance with regulations to protect the health, safety and well-being of the children in care at least once every 12 months. The Kansas Department of Health and Environment contracts with local county health departments or private contractors to conduct on-site inspections.
  • The licensed group day care home must be approved for fire safety.
2 ½ Years to 11 Years of Age 9 - TABLE II--LICENSE CAPACITY, ONE ADULT
3 Years to 11 Years of Age 10 - TABLE II--LICENSE CAPACITY, ONE ADULT
Kindergarten to 11 Years of Age 12 - TABLE II--LICENSE CAPACITY, ONE ADULT
CATEGORIES OF KANSAS DAYCARE

Licensed Day Care Homes (K.A.R. 28-4-113 et seq.) "Licensed day care home" means the premises in which care is provided for a maximum of 10 children under 16 years of age with limited number of children under kindergarten age in accordance with K.A.R. 28-4-114(e)(1). This total includes children under11 years of age related to the provider.

Group Day Care Homes (K.A.R. 28-4-113 et seq.) "Group day care home" means the premises in which care is provided for a maximum of 12 children under16 years of age with a limited number of children under kindergarten age in accordance with K.A.R. 28-4-114(f)(1). This total includes children under11 years of age related to the provider.

Child Care Centers (K.A.R. 28-4-420 et seq.) "Child care center" means a facility in which care and educational activities are provided for 13 or more children two weeks to 16 years of age for more than three hours and less than 24 hours per day including day time, evening, and nighttime care, or which provides before and after school care for school-age children. A facility may have fewer than 13 children and be licensed as a center if the program and building meet child care center regulations.

Preschools (K.A.R. 28-4-420 et seq.) "Preschool" means a facility which provides learning experiences for children who have not attained the age of eligibility to enter kindergarten prescribed in K.S.A. 72-1107(c) and any amendments thereto, and who are 30 months of age or older; which conducts sessions not exceeding three hours per session; which does not enroll any child more than one session per day; and which does not serve a meal. The term "preschool" shall include educational preschools, Montessori schools, nursery schools, church-sponsored preschools, and cooperatives. A preschool may have fewer than 13 children and be licensed as a preschool if the program and facility meet preschool regulations. In lieu of being licensed, preschools operated in the same building as private schools providing kindergarten through grade six shall be governed by Kansas statutes applicable to private schools.

School Age Programs (K.A.R. 28-4-576 et seq.) “School age program” means a child care facility that serves exclusively school-age children and youth. This definition includes building based school age programs, mobile summer programs and outdoor summer camps.

Drop In Programs (K.A.R. 28-4-700 et seq.) “Drop in program” means a child care facility that is not located in an individual’s residence, that serves exclusively school-age children and youth, and in which the operator permits children and youth to arrive at and depart from the program at their own volition and at unscheduled times. This term shall not include a program, instructional class, or activity as specified in K.A.R. 28-4-578(b).

Licensing in home-based care is not required when:
1) Child care is provided for not more than two children unrelated to the provider for not more than 20 hours a week and the home has not been closed as a result of enforcement action.** Total time is determined by adding the hours each child is cared for weekly.
2) Irregular child care is arranged between friends and neighbors on an exchange basis.
3) Child care is provided in the child's own home.
4) Child care is provided in the home of the child's relative.
CATEGORIES OF CHILD CARE (less

Contact Information
Child Care Licensing Agency
Kansas Department of Health and Environment
Bureau of Child Care and Health Facilities
Curtis State Office Building
1000 SW Jackson, Suite 200
Topeka, KS 66612-1274
Phone: (785) 296-1270
Fax: (785) 296-0803
Kansas Daycare Listings
Child Care Subsidy Agency
Kansas Department of Social and Rehabilitation Services
Economic and Employment Support
Docking State Office Building
915 SW Harrison, 681W
Topeka, KS 66612-1510
Phone: (785) 291-3314
Toll Free: (888) 369-4777
Fax: (785) 296-0146
Head Start - State Collaboration Office
Kansas Department of Social and Rehabilitation Services
Docking State Office Building
915 Southwest Harrison, Room 681 West
Topeka, KS, 66612
Phone: (785) 368-6354
Fax: (785) 296-0146
Child Care Food Program Agency
Kansas State Board of Education
120 SE 10th Avenue
Topeka, Kansas 66612-1182
Phone: (785) 296-2276
Fax: (785) 296-0232
State Child Care Resource & Referral Contact
1512 E. Iron
Salina, KS 67401
Phone: (785) 823-3343
Toll Free: (877) 678-2548
Fax: (785) 823-3385

Office of Child Support Enforcement
Child Support Enforcement Program
Department of Social & Rehabilitation Services
P.O.Box 497
Topeka, Kansas 66601-049
Phone: (785) 296-3237
Fax: (785) 296-5206

Child Abuse Reporting
To report suspected child abuse in Kansas, call Toll-Free: (800) 922-5330.

For national child abuse information, call the Childhelp®, 800-4-A-CHILD (800-422-4453), or your local CPS agency.


Homepage           Login        Sign-Up         Forum        Toys & Products        About Us       

Daycare.com

Daycare.com